The Folk of Air Series

The Cruel Prince book series book review.

February 4, 2021

The Cruel Prince Series by Holly Black

Overall Rating: 3/5 ⭐️

Jude, once taken to the Faerie world after the murder of her parents, takes on a game of kings and courts to find her place in a world where mortals are often considered dirt. I enjoyed getting to watch Jude and her rise to power, though think we could have stuck with one plot versus having several branching and incomplete in the series. Was a book I was captivated to find out what happened and read the entire series in 2 sittings.


Book 1: The Cruel Prince 3/5 ⭐️

This reason for picking up this book series came from high recommendations from #BookTok. It was a little hard for me to get into the start of this book. It was not until about halfway through that I started to gain interest. Though I could say this was because I bounced back and forth between audiobook and paperback book. My interest peaked at the end.

Book 2: The Wicked King 5/5 ⭐️

My FAVORITE book in this series. We really see a good series of events in this novel that kept me flipping page after page to find out how Jude’s relationship continues to develop with “The Wicked King.” Could not wait to start the next book.

Book 3: The Queen of Nothing 3.5/5 ⭐️

Ultimately, I enjoyed this book, although I feel there were a lot of plots introduced and not followed, and unnecessary addition of relationships that could have been avoided, or elaborated on more. I am still unsure of how I feel about the ending.


Would I recommend this series to someone? YES!

Posted in: Lainee's Library